Date: 5th May 2011 at 12:48pm
Written by:

Barnsley skipper Jason Shackell has picked up the prestigious Supporters’ Player of the Year award at Barnsley.

Shackell polled the most votes from the Barnsley supporters in this years vote for his performances on the pitch, picking up the award in his debut season for the Reds.

The Reds new skipper adds his name to a list of past winners of the award including Bruce Dyer, John Hendrie, Neil Redfearn and Bobby Hassell.

Shackell has made 45 appearances for the Reds in total, scoring three goals.